Skip to main content

Michelle Batten and Frank Goulard

Two recently retired local union presidents were honored by the Northwest Oregon Labor Council at its 24th Annual Labor Appreciation Dinner. Michelle Batten, retired president of Portland Federation of School Professionals (PFSP), AFT Local 111, was honored with the Del Ricks Community Service Award. Batten served as president and was on the Executive Council of PFSP for many years. She was also a member of AFT-Oregon's Executive Council. 

Also honored was Frank Goulard, president of Portland Community College Faculty Federation and Academic Professionals (PCCFFAP), AFT Local 2277, who is retiring this summer after a long tenure. 

People holding sign that says "We are worth MORE"

Members and supporters of Oregon Coast United Employees, AFT Local 6020 gather at a rally before a board meeting of the Oregon Coast Community College. This is the second consecutive contract negotiation that has ended up in mediation, and members let the board know that they are tired of the endless delays. 

AFT-Oregon President Ariana Jacob, OSEA Zone IV Director Sheila Waggoner, Governor Tina Kotek, OSEA Executive Director Susan Miller

AFT-Oregon President Ariana Jacob met with other state labor leaders at Governor Tina Kotek’s ceremonial signing of Senate Bill 1552, the Senate Education Omnibus Bill. They were joined by State Senator Courtney Neron and by State Senator Michael Dembrow, who sponsored the bill.

It's a "dog-eat-dog" world out there, but every worker in a labor union has the right to union representation. MORE